Empowered by a visit to Social Security 

Today has been empowering. I’m sure most of you won’t think it was much of a big deal, but it was huge to me.  I went to Social Security ALONE and got the name change done. I gave off the impression of confidence and not only did no one mess with me or stare at me funny, but people were actually nice.  It’s all been taken care of, so now I just need to wait for my new Social Security card in the mail. I feel confident enough to go to the New York DMV alone and now I can start expanding my list of “safe places”. Of course, my new medication helped a lot. But this is all very empowering.  It means that I’d probably be able to face a job interview or face starting school.  I find hat life is easier when I just stop caring what people think of me and get on with it

Author: Becca

Dead to the world, dead inside.

Leave a Reply

