Complaint filed, but the damage has been done 

I filed a complaint this morning against the owner of the property and the company which the security guard works for.  I have also filed an official complaint with the New York State Department of Human Rights.  The lady I dealt with said that my complaint looked good and she got someone there to motorize it. I am willing to take this all the way to court.

I went out for the first time yesterday evening.  First I went to Boulder coffee shop, mainly because I needed $1 bills for the bus.  I then caught the bus to the nearby Wegmans supermarket and managed to grocery shop in peace around 10pm.   I caught the bus back just after 11pm, dropped my groceries back at my apartment then went for a run.

I’m not over what happened on Friday.  I haven’t even begun to address it, because it’s too painful. Ifs left me feeling uglier than ever.   I try to tell myself the misgendering was intentional, but it doesn’t stop the tsunami of dysphoria from hitting me.  I want those guards to be punished for what they did to me.  At the very least to prevent it from happening to anyone else, because they are blatantly targeting transgender women that they don’t like the look of. State laws signed in 2015 by The Governor prohibit such discrimination.  Had this happened in a red state, I’d have probably been screwed.  I want action taken against the companies involved so as to send a message that it is unacceptable.  

My hospital pre-admission testing appointment has been rescheduled for tomorrow morning.  I am talking to someone on OK Cupid who wants to meet me on Wednesday evening, but I’m not sure if I can face that and risk taking another hit to my already negative self-esteem.

Author: Becca

Dead to the world, dead inside.

1 thought on “Complaint filed, but the damage has been done ”

Leave a Reply

