An important anniversary date – 13 years in America

Today is an important anniversary day for me.   It was 13 years ago today (February 17, 2004) that I first arrived in the United States, to be with S (my ex-wife) in Miami.


I remember it like it was yesterday. I remember first arriving in Miami and everything seemed so green, tropical and lush.  I remember S pulling up in her white 97 Kia Sephia when  I was standing just outside the arrivals (lower) level of Miami International Airport.  I remember the song “One Thing” by Finger Eleven playing on the radio as she drove me to her mother’s house in Hialeah, where we both lived for a year and a half.   I was overwhelmed, relieved and exhausted.

My LiveJournal from that time is still active, though I stopped using it 12 years ago.  This is my first LiveJournal entry from America:

I  can’t believe that 13 years have just disappeared.  I wish that S was still a part of my life, in some capacity.  I’ll never forget what she did for me and what she means to me, still.

And here’s the Finger Eleven song that always reminds me of that day:

Author: Becca

Dead to the world, dead inside.

5 thoughts on “An important anniversary date – 13 years in America”

      1. I wouldn’t do it now, that’s for sure. It did cause many problems for me. Miami was a very alien city. I was totally dependent on my partner for a year. And it was difficult for her dealing with me and my panic attacks

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

