Faith Restored In The Transgender Community (A Positive Blog Entry) 

Brace yourselves…a positive blog entry *gasp*

I went out with friends tonight (yes, please don’t fall over in shock).  They were people I met on a local transgender community group on Facebook.  One of them recognized me as they go to the same clinic.  They picked me up and took me to a trans group at a well known coffee shop here.

Despite my fears, it was good. That was the most “human” I’ve felt in months.  It was awkward at times, but I talked to quite a few people and made new friends. It’s also restored my faith in the transgender community which had been destroyed due to bad experiences.  They made me feel welcome.  I’ve made 4 new friends, 2 of whom have invited me to spend Thanksgiving with them tomorrow so I won’t be alone.

Having friends will help me far more than anything else, especially friends I can actually spend time with.  It isn’t rocket science; human interaction makes me feel more human, which in turn helps my mental health.  Now I’m actually tired and grateful for my alone time, rather than being driven insane by it.  

Author: Becca

Dead to the world, dead inside.

Leave a Reply

