Post-Election Reflection

I’ve calmed down since early this morning, when I literally had a meltdown over the election results.  I’m still not happy and I’m still scared, but at this point, it is what it is and that’s what the American people decided.

I spent most of today at the clinic. I’m glad that I was able to get out, because I would’ve gone insane if I’d stayed here.  I picked up my prescriptions and took my first dose of Adderall (a stimulant used to treat Attention Deficit Disorder).

I had a free lunch at the clinic and got to have a long conversation with my card manager and his support worker.  We talked mostly as if it were a conversation among friends.  I noticed the Adderall was working, because I was able to focus and absorb what was being said and I hardly interrupted.

I had therapy in the afternoon. Even my therapist noticed a change in my overall mood.  We talked about politics for a while (which is fine, as I don’t have anyone to talk to usually).   I explained that my desire is to work again as soon as possible and that I want to get back to the level of independence I had five years ago or more.  I don’t know why I declined so much – the trans thing is one element of it, but there’s more.  I told him that with my new found attention span,  I’d like to go to school at some point and get an accounting degree.

The cab dropped me back to the motel around 5.  I ate a few snacks and am ready to pass out after not sleeping at all last night.

As for Trump, it is what it is.  I blame the Democrats for much of this.  If they’d have actually listened to the electorate, rather than their party then Bernie would’ve been the nominee.  I just hope that he and Mike Pence don’t do too much damage, though it’s safe to say many protective laws will probably be stripped from the federal government, along with Obamacare.

Maybe Trump will surprise us all, maybe he will help to create jobs in rust belt states and cities like Detroit that have been neglected by successive governments for years and allowed to decline.  If he can help create a new manufacturing powerhouse, it might do some good.  But he isn’t going to do that by nothing more than corporate tax curs.   This is nothing but trickle-down economics that has been proven to fail, as the money fails to stimulate the economy.  Companies only tend to hire when they experience growth or wish to expand.  Giving them tax cuts just goes to the fat cats.

I’m not happy, but I’m not freaking out.  Trump is still a piece of shit, but I’m going to do my utmost best to not worry about it until any potential shit looks like hitting the fan. I’ll keep an open mind and will hold off on any further judgment until the new administration has been established.  Notning much is likely to change for the first year anyway.

But people are scared.  I overheard lots of conversations about the election today.

Author: Becca

Dead to the world, dead inside.

Leave a Reply

