Friendships Destroyed By Living Together (And Misophonia)

Living together can either make or break friendships (and relationships).  In my case, I’ve only ever been able to live harmoniously with one person: S (my ex-wife).  For all our problems, nothing she did ever bothered me and hopefully that feeling was mutual.

When you live together, the good and the bad becomes amplified.  If you each have different standards when it comes to cleanliness, hygiene and sleep patterns, it’ll cause potential problems down the line.  Be willing to communicate at all times and don’t bottle things up, as that will eventually cause a blowout.  Do not “team up” on one particular roommate, as this may well be taken as an attack.

My living situation has destroyed a friendship.  Hate is a strong word, but it’s beginning to feel that way, especially towards the other roommate, who decided to interject herself into the problems between me and my now ex-friend yesterday when she stood there and directed her “I can’t take another weekend of this” and “I will call 911” comments towards me. This is despite the fact that it is my ex-friend who raises her voice.  All I do is lock myself in the bathroom, as unlike either of them, I have no control over this environment and nowhere else to go.

My dignity has been further erased by the fact that I allowed a 22 year old to talk down to me and make me feel small.  But losing it wouldn’t have achieved anything beyond them having me thrown out.  I’m not going to give her the satisfaction of being the straw to break the camel’s back.

When i leave, I don’t ever want to see these people again.  They can stay in their own little world of nir wanting to work, watching anime and talking about Pokémon and being lazy.  My ex-friend doesn’t care that I have misophonia, which is a neurological  consition that causes hatred of certain sounds.  She doesn’t give a damn that her behavior is affecting my sleep pattern, which in turn affects my mood.  She has no interest in doing as I suggested, which is to get a neutral mediator involved to get the 3 of us to sit down and talk like ADULTS.  Every time I complain about a problem such as the dishes left in the sink for days, the smell from the many animals they have between them or that I feel like they’re conspiring against me, I’m the bitch, the asshole and the problem.  

These are not people that are healthy for me to be around.  This living situation has robbed me of the last bit of dignity that I had left.  I’m on the verge of running away, as it could take 3 months to be housed and I don’t think I can last 3 more days with these passive-aggressive, backstabbing assholes. 

Author: Becca

Dead to the world, dead inside.

3 thoughts on “Friendships Destroyed By Living Together (And Misophonia)”

Leave a Reply

