Forgiveness

They say it’s best to forgive, rather than hold grudges. But in my case, the problem with forgiveness is that when I forgive someone for hurting me, it usually allows them to hurt me again, because when I forgive, I also tend to forget how badly that person treated me and the cycle continues.

So I’ll keep my grudges until I can figure out a way to forgive without forgetting the pain that person caused me.  I’ll leave the forgiveness part to someone else more qualified to determine if it’s deserved or not.   

Author: Becca

Dead to the world, dead inside.

5 thoughts on “Forgiveness”

  1. Forgiveness doesn’t also mean returning to the way things were. In fact many times forgiveness involves letting go. Letting go of the person that caused the pain but not holding them eternally responsible. Forgiveness is a real gift to someone. Many times a parting gift.

    I wish you the best.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. While I agree with you in principle, it’s a little tricky for me. I tend to take people back when I forgive them and then they hurt me again. Not forgiving at least reduces the risk of me getting hurt or used again. I know it sounds strange and I know the default position is to forgive and move on…and maybe when I’m stronger and able to do that, I sill forgive everyone who ever wronged me. But right now it’s too much of an open wound.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh yeah, I definitely know the principle is always easy to say especially from a total stranger watching from the sidelines.

        There are a million cliche phrases I could use to say things like this get easier with time blah blah blah but I am not in your shoes and I wouldn’t consider being disrespectful by applying my thinking to your life.

        Without knowing you, I’ll keep some faith for you that you’ll get what you need in your time.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You get it. It’s just not priority right now. Forgiving certain people would expose my weaknesses which would be exploited. Until I learn to say “no” and stick to my guns, forgiveness is beyond me and it’s safest that way.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

