Voice Feminization Surgery Would Be Life Changing

One of the biggest causes of my gender dysphoria (aside from the tumor between my legs) is my voice. It sounds male and is the cause of half of my social anxiety in talking to people face to face and almost all of it when talking on the phone. Being able to pay for surgery to change my voice would be positively life-changing and would allow me to work on other factors that also cause my depression and anxiety.

I have read / heard conflicting stories of whether or not the actual surgery is covered under the NHS. According to the NHS website, it could be covered, but yet every single other transgender woman I’ve spoken to in the UK has said that they’ve received little or no help with changing their voice. I have looked on a few (mostly US) websites and the cost of this appears to range from $4,000 – $8,000 USD. Being too ill to work and having no savings, I could not afford to pay for this myself, or go private in this country. Here is an example of one company offering the surgery specific to transgender patients:

http://professionalvoice.org/feminization.aspx

I’m going to post this update to my GoFundMePage, as if I could just raise the money for this somehow, it would change my life forever.

As of now, I am virtually unable to talk on the phone, unless I know who it is and that person knows me, or if someone else speaks for me first. Out there, I am virtually a mute and do not like using my voice in public at all This hasn’t just been the case since I transitioned; I had secretly hated my voice for years, especially when my voice broke after incorrectly being given testosterone injections because I didn’t start puberty properly (long story). Even using my voice with people I know causes me dysphoria and makes me depressed.

Here is a link to my GoFundMe page, which I will update as I am hoping for a miracle:

https://www.gofundme.com/mbqthx8c

To anyone reading this, please share my story, if you can. I really can’t go on living this way. I know some transgender women just accept certain flaws and I already have to accept that I’m tall even by male standards, but I can’t live with this awful voice anymore and I am hoping that help will come.

‪#‎trans‬ ‪#‎transgender‬ ‪#‎hepme‬ ‪#‎voicefeminization‬ ‪#‎surgery‬‪#‎changemylifeforever‬ ‪#‎lgbt‬ ‪#‎transition‬ ‪#‎mtf‬ ‪#‎help‬ ‪#‎genderdysphoria‬‪#‎dysphoria‬

One of the biggest causes of my gender dysphoria (aside from the tumor between my legs) is my voice. It sounds male and is the cause of half of my social anxiety in talking to people face to face and almost all of it when talking on the phone. Being able to pay for surgery to change my voice would be positively life-changing and would allow me to work on other factors that also cause my depression and anxiety.

I have read / heard conflicting stories of whether or not the actual surgery is covered under the NHS. According to the NHS website, it could be covered, but yet every single other transgender woman I’ve spoken to in the UK has said that they’ve received little or no help with changing their voice. I have looked on a few (mostly US) websites and the cost of this appears to range from $4,000 – $8,000 USD. Being too ill to work and having no savings, I could not afford to pay for this myself, or go private in this country. Here is an example of one company offering the surgery specific to transgender patients:

http://professionalvoice.org/feminization.aspx

I’m going to post this update to my GoFundMePage, as if I could just raise the money for this somehow, it would change my life forever.

As of now, I am virtually unable to talk on the phone, unless I know who it is and that person knows me, or if someone else speaks for me first. Out there, I am virtually a mute and do not like using my voice in public at all This hasn’t just been the case since I transitioned; I had secretly hated my voice for years, especially when my voice broke after incorrectly being given testosterone injections because I didn’t start puberty properly (long story). Even using my voice with people I know causes me dysphoria and makes me depressed.

Here is a link to my GoFundMe page, which I will update as I am hoping for a miracle:

https://www.gofundme.com/mbqthx8c

To anyone reading this, please share my story, if you can. I really can’t go on living this way. I know some transgender women just accept certain flaws and I already have to accept that I’m tall even by male standards, but I can’t live with this awful voice anymore and I am hoping that help will come.

‪#‎trans‬ ‪#‎transgender‬ ‪#‎hepme‬ ‪#‎voicefeminization‬ ‪#‎surgery‬‪#‎changemylifeforever‬ ‪#‎lgbt‬ ‪#‎transition‬ ‪#‎mtf‬ ‪#‎help‬ ‪#‎genderdysphoria‬‪#‎dysphoria‬

Author: Becca

Dead to the world, dead inside.

Leave a Reply

